How Many Countries Signed Paris Climate Agreement

The Paris Agreement, a global treaty to combat climate change, was signed in 2015 by 196 countries. This historic agreement seeks to limit global warming to well below 2 degrees Celsius above pre-industrial levels and pursue efforts to limit the temperature increase to 1.5 degrees Celsius. It also aims to strengthen the ability of countries to deal with the impacts of climate change and support sustainable development.

The Paris Agreement was a major milestone in the fight against climate change, as it represented a new level of cooperation among nations to address the urgent challenge of global warming. The agreement was negotiated under the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC) and was adopted on December 12, 2015, at the 21st Conference of the Parties (COP21) in Paris, France.

The agreement entered into force on November 4, 2016, after it had been ratified by at least 55 countries representing at least 55% of global greenhouse gas emissions. As of August 2021, 191 of the 196 signatories have ratified the agreement, with the only exceptions being Iran, Iraq, Libya, South Sudan, and Eritrea.

The Paris Agreement is a critical step towards achieving a sustainable future, as it provides a framework for countries to work together towards a common goal. The agreement recognizes that countries have different responsibilities and capabilities, and therefore allows for flexibility in the implementation of climate action plans. It also includes provisions for financial support for developing countries to help them transition to low-carbon economies and adapt to the impacts of climate change.

In summary, 196 countries signed the Paris Agreement in 2015, and as of August 2021, 191 have ratified the agreement. The Paris Agreement is a crucial step in the global effort to combat climate change, and it provides a framework for countries to work together towards a sustainable future.